Technical Skills Attainment

The Technical Skills Attainment (TSA) process is a major system-wide initiative required by the federal government under Carl Perkins IV legislation.  The WTCS Office’s role is to implement and manage this requirement for the over 349 programs impacted. The project started in FY2008.

The purpose is to assess the attainment of program outcomes to ensure graduates have the technical skills needed by employers. The program outcomes are approved by the WTCS Office and implemented by districts. They will be linked to industry standards and meet state criteria including validity, reliability, and fairness.

For TSA Phase 1 guidance, please contact the Director of Quality, Planning and Assessment Jennifer G. Mikulay, Ph.D.  at X7949

Phase 2 processes and documents can be found by selecting the links on the right side of this page. For general process information, please review the WTCS TSA Process ESM document, or contact the Director of Quality, Planning and Assessment Jennifer G. Mikulay, Ph.D.  at X7949

Reporting Phase (formerly Phase 3) Programs that have Phase 2 approval and are reporting student attainment of the program skills, will be sent a roster of student names to the faculty teaching the course identified as the capstone. Faculty are expected to identify students that tested and met the TSA requirements, tested and did not meet the TSA requirements, along with those that were not tested. The TSA results will become part of the Program Studies Review.

Return these results to the Institutional Research-Assessment and Evaluation Office.

TSA Resources

  • District Resources are available here.
  • How to use the WTCS Repository Video here.
  • TSA Document Samples from the WIDS Repository
    • Click on the link here. Search for the program title or number. Open the program and select the Documents tab and the Project Management Documents screen. Help finding TSA Documents.

Technical Skills Attainment Process (Phase 1)


Technical Skills Attainment Process (Phase 2)